Thankful Heart

A journey I am walking during this Thanksgiving season…

Thanksgiving is all about being thankful and gratitude.   I am thankful for all the different things that were taught to me through their lives and examples.  I am thankful for my new job, working in the bakery at Walmart because it has provided me with steady income.  I am thankful for the new people I have met and new skills I am learning.

I am learning to be thankful for even the hard things that have happened in our lives.  Matt’s health issues and my job loss for the last several years have been trying on us, physically, emotionally and financially.  I have seen God provide for us time and time again, even when sometimes we have no answers from the medical field.  I am thankful for the tests that have come back with good results, even though it means we still have no answers. I have also had many dear friends move away the last couple of years who were my confidants and help.  I would not wish any other life than the paths they chose for themselves, but it doesn’t make the heartache any less when I miss them and different times.  I am thankful for the time we did spend together crying and laughing.

Yet even with all these things to be thankful, I have struggled with my depression and anxiety this season.  I have changed my medicine and am finding new friends to share my heart with.  I am continuing to learn to break through my own walls and share my heart with others as I struggle.

What are you thankful for this Thanksgiving season?

Joining others over at Faith Barista for the jam fest.

8 thoughts on “Thankful Heart

  1. I’m always amazed how people find things to be grateful for even in the tough times. You have definitely been through some rough things, Katie, yet you continue to find hope and reasons to press on. God always plants those there for us and gives us grace to receive them, doesn’t he? I love that.

    I pray the holiday season will bring more of God’s grace to unwrap. Your friendship has been a gift to me this year. Thank you for sharing parts of your journey with me, friend.

  2. Hi Katie, this was a bittersweet post to read … I’ve struggled a bit with depression and anxiety too, it is tough. And yes – how good it is to have things to be thankful for as well! May God bring you through these sometimes choppy waters into a new season of grace and joy … Ps 90:13-17

  3. Hi Katie ~

    My prayer for you is, while you deal with the medical and financial strains that surround you, that you find comfort in knowing that you are being held in the comforting arms of Jesus.

    May you have a blessed Thanksgiving.

    ~ Dorothy

  4. I am so glad to see you writing again! I appreciated your honesty in your blog – so often our blessings seem to be double edged swords. I love living here in the mountains, I struggle with finding my niche. I love making new friends, but I miss my old. I love the 10 inches of snow we got … to look at, not to drive in! I like being by family but sometimes their values are so different than my own. And so, I try to wear my rose colored glasses … but … I am MOST thankful for a God who makes it all work out. I am so thankful He is faithful and trustworthy, even when I can’t find my pink shades.

    Thank you for sharing and may God bless you all this Thanksgiving.

    1. Oh Diane! I have always appreciated you no matter the distance between us. Writing for me is still hit and miss but I am trying. Right now the writing prompts from Faith Barista’s site are getting it going so I will at least keep trying to do this until I get where I am writing on my own again.

Leave a Reply

