Forever My Love You Will Be

Image

Back when we were dating/engaged I read my husband a children’s book called Love You Forever by Robert Munsch.  There was a poem inside that the mother sings to her son each night before bed.

 “I like you for always.

 I love you forever.

Forever my baby you will be.”

We changed it up for ourselves and said to each other often:

I like you for always

I love you forever

Forever my love you will be.

I even inscribed the last line inside his wedding ring before I gave the ring to him on our wedding day.  Last May we have been married thirteen years.  As Valentine’s Day approaches I have been thinking of this.   There have been so many things over the years that have happened.

Fights

Betrayal

Chronic illness

Money struggles

Job loss

Death of close family members

Depression

Anxiety

Codependency

So much to drive walls between us.  At times I was angry with you or you with me.  There were times I didn’t like  you or you didn’t like me.  Yet as I think back over the years I continue to remember there is so much more than our trials to look back on.

Walks in the park discovering nature together.

Going on drives looking for deer.

Taking care of one another when sick.

Watching shows together and snuggling.

Looking deep inside the other beyond the walls.

Listening.

Acceptance

Holding One Another

Giving GRACE

Hope

God has been there in the midst of it all with us.  Holding us.  Helping us.   I say to myself and you once again, in front of God and the world.

I like you for always

I love you forever

Forever my love you will be.

10 thoughts on “Forever My Love You Will Be

  1. Okay, now you’ve gone and made me cry. 😉 Both for the joy of marriage and for the hardships of it. Living with someone–even the best of someones–is never an easy journey. Yet you continue to stick it out and keep loving your man. That blesses the world, Katie. Ripples out in many good ways…. Thanks for your honesty.

Leave a Reply

