Who are You?

I introduce myself every week, “Hi I am Katie, a grateful believer who struggles with codependency, depression, and anxiety.”  I often try to control things that are beyond my control.  I hide my heart from people who I think may hurt me.  I hide behind walls that I mean for protection, but in the end they end up keeping me isolated and feeling alone.  

I say I am a grateful believer first because that is where my identity lies, not in my labels, but in who I am in Christ.  My recovery group, Delta, is a safe place for me to share and come out of hiding.  It is a place for me to receive grace and acceptance when I mess up in life.  After sharing here in my safe place, I find it is easier to share with others in my life who I am.    When I need to share with my husband, often these ladies will keep asking me if I have talked to him, until I do it and share.  They accept me and love right where I am at.  

So often by those who know me wonder why I am in a 12 Step Recovery Group, Delta, I don’t drink or do drugs so why do I go?  I go because it is a safe place to share my hurts and fears and dreams.  I go because of the grace I have experienced there.  Just because I don’t  drink or do drugs does not mean I don’t have an addiction.  Addiction comes in so many ways.  A friend of mine said once, if you don’t like the word addiction, just replace it with the word sin.  For all of us are addicted to our sins.  Have you ever tried to stop sinning? 

Who are you?  What addiction (sin) are you struggling with?  Who do you share your heart with?  Share a piece of it with someone today!  

 

4 thoughts on “Who are You?

  1. Amen … I really really like this. I struggle with worsening anxiety, self harm, and depression … and codependency as well. I go to my church’s recovery group and though it’s awkward to be there sometimes cause I feel like the only ‘cutter’ … it’s hard to relate. But i know they appreciate my input with the few words I say and I’ve learned alot from them. Take care … I look forward to reading more of your posts .. I think we might have a few things in common! God bless.

    1. Keep going, sharing when you can, and depending on Jesus to get you through. Reach out when you need to reach out to someone. Cutting is no different than other addictions, it is a way to deal with the pain. Thank you for taking the time to come by and read and comment. I will be thinking of you.

  2. I struggle with codependency, anger, depression, isolation and anxiety issues. I also have trust issues, but I’m saved and sealed by grace. I’m having to let go of what a relationship could have been with an extended family member and accepting the reality that they don’t want a close relationship with me. It hurts, but it would hurt worse to live in a lie, thinking the person was close to me. Hope that made sense!

    1. Totally makes sense to me Marie! I am still praying for you friend. You are right you are filled with GRACE through who you are in Christ. Keep looking to him for a relationship, instead of family. Love you!

Leave a Reply

